Got to Be There (album by Michael Jackson january 1972}

Got to Be There (album Michael Jackson january 1972}

Got to Be There was the solo debut album by then-adolescent Michael Jackson, released on Motown Records on January 24, 1972. It includes the song of the same name, which was released in the fall of 1971 as Michael Jackson debut solo single.

Album information:

Motown released Jackson's solo album around the same time that another famous brother from a famous family was doing the same: Donny Osmond, who was hitting with songs like "Sweet & Innocent" and "Puppy Love". Jackson's and Osmond's debut efforts almost paralleled each other, as Jackson scored a hit with the title track and "Rockin' Robin", which like Osmond's "Puppy Love", was a remake of an old '50s rock song. The album also included covers of Bill Withers' "Ain't No Sunshine", Carole King's "You've Got a Friend" and the Supremes' "Love Is Here and Now You're Gone".